Training - Amatsu Therapy International

Amatsu Training


Levels of Training

Amatsu Practitioner Year 1 (Level 4 NOS)

  • The study of muscles and bones, how they can become restricted and cause pain. How to release the muscles with Japanese Massage

Amatsu Practitioner Year 2 (Level 5 NOS)

  • The study of Ligaments, Fascia, Joints and how they interact with the Muscles and Bones and how to create space in the body.

Year 3 learning - Shinden

  • The study of fascial restriction in the spaces around organs and the effect it has on the body and how to release these restrictions.

To qualify as an Amatsu Practitioner you will be required to attend 24 in-class days in year one (Year 1) and 24 in-class days in year 2 (Year 2). During your Year 1 and 2 training you are required to complete homework and case studies, attend all classes and at the end of each year sit exams in (a) Anatomy & Physiology and (b) Amatsu Theory as well as a practical examination.

Practitioners may work as Amatsu Level 1 practitioners after having completed the first year of training and passed their practical and written exams.

Once an Amatsu Practitioner has qualified in both levels, it is optional to continue their training and to study the higher levels of Shinden together with Masterclasses and Kihon courses. These course are internally assessed by teachers, they are not externally examined, and are therefore classed as Continuing Professional Development. ATI UK encourages all members to pursue their training to the highest levels.

If you wish to train as an Amatsu Practitioner you will need to enrol on a training course with an Accredited Amatsu Training School. There are links below to the school currently accredited by Amatsu Therapy International UK where you will find details of their enrolment policies and courses.

The Amatsu Training School Ltd


Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire : Sheffield, South Yorkshire

Continuing Professional Development courses are listed in the Members area.

Find a Practitioner

Search our list of qualified practitioners by region.